Tag Archive: Buddhism

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Candi Plaosan, also known as the ‘Plaosan Complex’, is one of the Buddhist temples located in Bugisan village, Prambanan district, Central Java, Indonesia, about a kilometer to the northwest of the renowned Hindu Prambanan Temple. Candi Plaosan covers an area of 2,000 square meters with an elevation of 148 meters above sea level. Plaosan temple was built in the mid 9th century by Sri Kahulunnan or Pramodhawardhani, the daughter of Samaratungga, descendent of Sailendra Dynasty, and who was married to Rakai Pikatan in the Hindu tradition. The Plaosan complex is an ensemble of two Buddhist temples, Plaosan Lor and Plaosan Kidul. The temples are separated by a road; Plaosan Lor is located in the North and Plaosan Kidul in the South. Plaosan Lor consists of two main temples and an open area known as a mandapa. Both temples have an entrance, a gate, and the guardian statue known as Dwarapala. Plaosan Lor and Plaosan Kidul are considered to originally be one complex.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Taungoo (Burmese:  MLCTS: taung ngu mrui., pronounced: [tàʊɴŋù mjo̰]; also spelled Toungoo) is a city in the Bago Region of Myanmar, 220 km from Yangon, towards the northeastern end of the division, with mountain ranges to the east and west.

The city Burmese history was the Taungoo Dynasty which ruled the country for over 200 years between the 16th and 18th centuries.

The main industry is in forestry products, with teak and other hardwoods extracted from the mountains.

The city is known for its areca palms, to the extent that a Burmese proverb for
unexpected good fortune is equated to a “betel lover winning a trip to Taungoo”.

The best-known member of the areca palms genus is A. catechu, the areca nut palm.
Several species of areca nuts, known for their bitter and tangy taste, raw or dried, are routinely used for chewing, especially in combination with the leaves of betel, and dried leaves of tobacco which is root cause of oral cancer being carcinogenic, and calcium hydroxide (lime).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Shwedagon Pagoda (IPA: [ʃwèdəɡòʊɴ pʰəjá]); Mon: [tɕaɪʔ təkɜ̀ŋ], officially named Shwedagon Zedi Daw ([ʃwèdəɡòʊɴ zèdìdɔ̀]) and also known in English as the Great Dagon Pagoda and the Golden Pagoda, is a gilded pagoda and stupa 99 metres (325 ft) in height in Yangon. The pagoda lies to the west of Kandawgyi Lake, on Singuttara Hill. It is the most sacred Buddhist pagoda for the Burmese with relics of four past Buddhas enshrined within: the staff of Kakusandha, the water filter of Koṇāgamana, a piece of the robe of Kassapa and eight strands of hair from Gautama.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Phitsanulok Thailand

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat is located on the east side of the Nan River at the Naresuan Bridge. The first constructions, being the cloisters were started in 1357.
The architecture left today includes a Khmer styled Prang, the Buddha Chinnarat Museum exhibiting Sukhothai period works and the Vihara housing the enormous image of Pra Buddha Chinnarat. This image is in the Mara Submission form and was moulded duting the Sukhothai Kingdom approximately 700 years ago as confirmed by a stone inscription in the Temple grounds.
The image is now displayed all over Thailand and a good reproduction can be seen at Wat Benchamabophit in Bangkok.


Phitsanulok Province is located in Lower North Thailand and is historiclly linked to Sukhothai, Si Satchanalai and Kamphaeng Phet. Visitors to any of these ancient cities should also plan to visit all four of them at the same time. The neighbouring Provinces are Loei, Phetchabun, Phichit, Kamphaeng Phet, Sukhothai and Uttaradit. The Capital City is also called Phitsanulok which is located on the Nan River. The name ” Phitsanulok ” has ancient Hindu routes, as ” Phitsanu ” is derived from the Hindi name ” Visnu ” and a general translation of the modern Thai name means ” Vishnu’s Heaven ”. Other ancient Thailand place names follow this Hindu tradition, such as, Ayutthaya.

The major tourist attractions in Phitsanulok are

The National Parks
Thung Salaeng Luang
Phu Hin Rong Kla
Namtok Chat Trakan, and
Kaeng Chet Khwae

Historical Monumnets
Phitsanulok City fortifications, the Wall and Moat
The City Pillar Shrine
Shrine for King Naresuan The Great
Chandra Palace, which was the birth place of King Naresuan

The Buddhist Temples
Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat
Wat Aranyik
Wat Chedi Yod Thong
Wat Ratchanurana
Wat Chula Manee
Wat Grung See Jayrin

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For meditation in Wat Ram Poeng (Tapotaram) check http://www.watrampoeng.net

Mental Development is a personal experience.
It does not matter if you are Buddhist, Christian, Jewish or Moslem.
Nor is it important what nationality or color you are, since each person in the world is longing for a better life.

The Insight Meditation technique taught here is a way to prepare a path to a better, peaceful life through clear understanding about oneself.
‘Meditation’ is the best word in English for the concept of Mental Development.

There are two kinds of meditation:
– Tranquil, or Samatha, Meditation, which develops concentration (Samadhi) on one object to help calm the mind.
– Insight, or Vipassana, Meditation, which develops self-understanding through Mindfulness Training.

The Teaching and Practice at Wat Tapotaram (Rampoeng) is based on the
Four Foundations of Mindfulness:

1. Contemplation of the Body
2. Contemplation of the Feelings
3. Contemplation of the Mind (Thought)
4. Contemplation of Objects of the Mind

During the meditation it is wise to do no
listening to music
Before or after your meditation training you might want to get a better understanding of Buddhism.